Back to list

Teys Australia wins top award at the National Safety Awards of Excellence

Monday 21, Oct 2019

NSCA Foundation's Safe-T-Bulletin, powered by Safety Solutions



Teys Australia wins top award at the National Safety Awards of Excellence | Safe-T-Bulletin | NSCA FoundationThe winners of the NSCA Foundation/GIO Workers Compensation 27th Annual National Safety Awards of Excellence were announced during a gala luncheon in Sydney on 17 October.

Teys Australia won the prestigious Pinnacle Award for its safety leadership program. Teys Australia focused on frontline leadership and adopted a ‘tripartite relationship’ that engaged academia, industry and government, with the objective being to improve its safety culture. Out of this relationship was developed a series of safety leadership models based on the evidence-based ‘LEAD’ model, developed by the Office of Industrial Relations and Curtin University. Positive feedback on the program was received and on average workers perceived positive changes in safety culture across several sites.

“We’re very proud, and very thankful for this award,” Julia Teys, Group Manager Workplace Health and Safety at Teys Australia, said. “We’ve done a lot of work in safety leadership and promoting safety culture within our business and we’re looking forward to ensuring we keep that going, and promoting that throughout our business in the future.”

The major sponsor for the awards was GIO Workers Compensation, while Actrua, Ansell, Greencap, Pro-Visual Publishing, Safe Work Australia, Sentis and Stowe Australia were category sponsors. Shane Webcke was master of ceremonies and keynote speaker for the awards. The 28th Annual National Safety Awards of Excellence will open in early 2020 and more information will be available via the website.

The full list of winners, highly commended and finalists is included below:

Category 1 — Best Continuous Improvement of a WHS Management System

  • Winner: St John of God Health Care Hawkesbury District Health Service
  • Highly Commended: Project Green Group
  • Finalists: Shadforth and Wyndham Destinations Asia Pacific

Category 2A — Best Solution of a WHS Risk (Small Business — 1 to 50 Employees)

  • Winner: The Lacket Company

Category 2B — Best Solution of a WHS Risk (Medium to Large Business — 50+ Employees)

  • Winner: Reece
  • Highly Commended: Belle Banne Conveyor Services and Port Waratah Coal Services
  • Finalist: Redpath

Category 3 — Best WHS Training Program

  • Winner: The Crane Industry Council of Australia
  • Highly Commended: Liberty Industrial

Category 4 — Best Communication of a Safety Message

  • Winner: Greening Australia
  • Highly Commended: Arup and Lendlease

Category 5 — Ian Chisholm Award for the Best Individual WHS Achievement

  • Winner: Steve Southall (Crown Equipment)
  • Highly Commended: Craig Hatchard (RoadTek, Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads)
  • Finalist: Glen Cook (Energy Queensland)

Category 6 — Best Safety Leadership Program/Initiative

  • Winner: Teys Australia
  • Highly Commended: Monadelphous

Category 7 — Best Health and Wellbeing Program

  • Winner: CosMin
  • Finalists: Metro Trains Melbourne, Queensland Police Union and Queensland Police Service, REDARC Electronics and St John of God Health Care

NSCA Foundation Member of the Year

  • Winner (Corporate): Mylan
  • Winner (Individual): Andrew Lewis

Pinnacle Award: GIO Workers Compensation Award for Excellence in WHS

  • Winner: Teys Australia


Teys Australia wins Pinnacle Award at the 2019 National Safety Awards of Excellence | Safe-T-Bulletin | NSCA Foundation

Teys Australia wins the Pinnacle Award. Pictured holding the award is Julia Teys, Group Manager Workplace Health and Safety at Teys Australia.