Back to list

2019 National Safety Awards of Excellence - Winners Announced

Friday 18, Oct 2019



T2019 NSCA Foundation and GIO Workers Compensation National Safety Awards of Excellencehe NSCA Foundation and GIO Workers Compensation’s 2019 National Safety Awards of Excellence celebrated Australian work health and safety heroes yesterday at the Awards Gala Luncheon.

Congratulations to the Winners, Highly Commended and Finalists!

Collectively and individually, through their dedication and commitment to excellence, they help to ensure Australians have safer and healthier workplaces. Each year, our independent judging panel has a challenging time assessing inspiring awards submissions. Read more about the Awards and finalists in this year’s Program Guide


2019 National Safety Awards of Excellence Winners, Highly Commended and Finalists: 


Category 1 - Best Continuous Improvement of a WHS Management System

Winner - St John of God Health Care Hawkesbury District Health Service

Highly Commended - Project Green Group

Finalists - Shadforth and Wyndham Destinations Asia Pacific


Category 2A - Best Solution of a WHS Risk (Small Business)

Winner - The Lacket Company


Category 2B - Best Solution of a WHS Risk (Medium to Large Business)

Winner - Reece

Highly Commended - Belle Banne Conveyor Services and Port Waratah Coal Services

Finalist - Redpath


Category 3 - Best WHS Training Program

Winner - The Crane Industry Council of Australia

Highly Commended - Liberty Industrial


Category 4 - Best Communication of a Safety Message

Winner - Greening Australia

Highly Commended – Arup and Lendlease


Category 5 - Ian Chisholm Award for the Best Individual WHS Achievement

Winner - Steve Southall (Crown Equipment)

Highly Commended - Craig Hatchard (RoadTek, QLD Department of Transport and Main Roads)

Finalist – Glen Cook (Energy Queensland)


Category 6 - Best Safety Leadership Program / Initiative

Winner - Teys Australia

Highly Commended - Monadelphous


Category 7 - Best Health and Wellbeing Program

Winners - ConsMin

Finalists - Metro Trains Melbourne, Qld Police Union and Qld Police Service, REDARC Electronics, and St John of God Health Care


NSCA Foundation Member of the Year

Winners (Corporate) - Mylan

Winner (Individual) – Andrew Lewis



GIO Workers Compensation Award for Excellence in WHS

Winner – Teys Australia


A big thank you to the awards major sponsor GIO Workers Compensation and category sponsors Actrua, Ansell, Greencap, Pro-Visual Publishing, Safe Work Australia, Sentis and Stowe Australia. Our sponsors ensure that Australian workplace health and safety champions continue to be recognised in Australia’s pinnacle WHS national awards.

We encourage all Australian organisations to implement best practice workplace health and safety through continuously innovating and creating solutions unique to your situation. 

The 28th annual National Safety Awards of Excellence will open early 2020. More information will be made available in the coming months at 


2019 National Safety Awards of Excellence - Winners